Child pages
  • Perception and Cognition
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata


Like other strands, the Perception & Cognition strand runs through Years 1 and 2. In year 1, Perception & Cognition runs through the Autumn and Spring terms, with each term being divided into two four week teaching blocks, each normally the responsibility of a different member of the strand's teaching team. In year 2, the strand again runs through both Autumn and Spring terms but also extends into the Summer term. Exams occur each year at the beginning of the Spring term and at the end of the Summer term.

Year 1

In Year 1 we investigate the processes through which our primary senses (vision and hearing) gain and interpret information about our world and how this information is organised, stored in, and retrieved from, memory.

  • TB1: Cognition - Dr Fiona McNab
  • TB2: Hearing - Prof Sven Mattys
  • TB3: Memory - Dr Fiona McNab
  • TB4: Seeing - Prof Alex Wade

Year 2

Year 2 develops a greater emphasis on higher level perceptual processing and more advanced topics in cognitive psychology. This leads onto how knowledge of the principles of perception and cognition can be applied in the real world.

  • TB6: Attention - Prof Paul Bishop
  • TB7: High-Level Perception: Dr Nick Barraclough
  • TB8: Cognition & Emotion - Dr Thomas Davies
  • TB9: Reasoning & Decision Making: Dr Aidan Horner
  • TB10: Animal Cognition - Prof Katie Slocombe

Text Books

Basic Vision: an introduction to visual perception. Snowden, R. Thompson, P. & Troscianko T. (2012) Oxford University Press

Cognitive Psychology. Quinlan, P. & Dyson, B. (2008) Pearson.

Teaching Team

Professor Paul Bishop

Room A118

paul.bishop@york.ac.uk

Professor Alex Wade


Room PS/B103
01904 323171 /
07427 432364
alex.wade@york.ac.uk

Profile

Professor Sven Mattys


Room PS/C105
01904 323145
sven.mattys@york.ac.uk

Profile

Dr Nick Barraclough


Room PS/B113
01904 323141
nick.barraclough@york.ac.uk

Profile


Aidan Horner

Room PS/B215
01904 324603
aidan.horner@york.ac.uk

Profile


Fiona McNab

Room PS/C227
01904 322874
fiona.mcnab@york.ac.uk

Profile


Dr Katie Slocombe


Room PS/B201
01904 322905
katie.slocombe@york.ac.uk

Profile




  • No labels